This is a development website for JJGPS. Visit the live site »

Labeling, 2015

Label other than standard labels not specified

In Utah, there is no specific classification for youth who commit status offenses, which include being ungovernable, being a runaway, and committing violations of the law that would not be a violation but for the age of the offender.

Age boundaries, 2016

  • Status offense jurisdiction

    Up through 17 years old

    No lower age specified

  • Delinquency jurisdiction

    Up through 17 years old

    No lower age specified

    Explore summaries »

In Utah, no lower age is specified for youth accused of committing non-delinquent, child-only law violations; being an “ungovernable or runaway child”; or a “habitual truant.” The highest age a child’s conduct can be considered a status offense is 17. Non-delinquent behaviors include: habitual truancy (starting at age 12), running away, being ungovernable, being beyond the control of caretakers, or endangering the welfare of self or others. Juvenile court has jurisdiction over many child-only offenses, but certain specified class B and C misdemeanors, ordinances and infractions of those at least age 16 are excluded from (original) juvenile court jurisdiction, such as traffic, boating, driver’s license and wildlife violations, etc. UT ST § 78A-6-103, 78A-6-105, 78A-6-106

Reported data

About this project

Juvenile Justice GPS (Geography, Policy, Practice, Statistics) is a project to develop a repository providing state policy makers and system stakeholders with a clear understanding of the juvenile justice landscape in the states.

Continue reading »

Feedback

Tell us what you think of JJGPS. Questions, feedback, or other comments are welcomed.

Questions or feedback »

Follow on Twitter »